Porting and redesign of CoShopping

Hi guys,

winter is coming, my runing session are coming short (haven’t run for last two weeks) and I’m becoming a little bit lazy with blogging. I guess it is because currently I am writing the CoShopping ‘s iOS version for the third time.

First it was in swift, then ported to Xamarin.Forms. This seemed to be a good decision because backend part was supposed to be same for Android and iOS version and there should be only minor changes required in the frontend part between iOS and Android versions. It proved to be very wrong. Xamarin.Forms is not mature project, it is full of bugs with each new version breaking the previously working api and introducing new bugs. It breaks also such a simple things as menu will inevitable crash the app on iOS 10 while on iOS 9 it was happily working 🙂 If somebody out there is trying to find crossplatform option for development I have to say that Xamarin.Forms is waste of time and money. This is based on my experience. They have a lot of bugs and are very slow in resolving them.

Currently I am porting this to Xamarin.iOS. This seems to be working. I managed to save all the backend stuff while having to write completely new frontend staff. Hovewer when I had to do a rewrite I also done some redesign with the UI and introduced a multiple local lists feature. Main screen of the app now looks like this:

simulator-screen-shot-15-nov-2016-01-33-33

I also created new icon:

120

I hope I can finish everything this week and put out the final betatest version. Before christmass I want to put the app out for iOS and work on the Android version using Xamarin.Android.

Fobia

I also have to write that I’m working on the game called Fobia. It is mix between tapan kaikki and commandos. Players are in the position of commandos trying to reach their objective while killing the enemy soldiers in the stealth or action way. It is top-down shooter which features cooperative multiplayer.

I will write a separate blog posts about this because it seems to be getting more updates than CoShopping.

Leave a Reply

